Down a sort of a different path today – a ‘memory lane’?

memory lane
My In-Laws
What I remember about them.
They always sat together watching T.V.
Not an easy thing necessarily for a man and a woman since they have such different interests typically.
(I wonder how they chose what to watch.)

Like the Bunkers on All In The Family.
That is what they reminded me of – Edith and Archie – except this was Marie and Raymond.
He, more often than not, sitting in his recliner, would fall asleep.
What I remember about her, my mother-in-law, is that she always had a joy for life, whatever was going on.
Always a quick smile and a cheerful disposition –
If there was pain (emotional pain) she lived with it well – always seeming able to put it aside and embrace the current moment.
Her children loved her, and you could call her blessed.
(Proverbs 31:28)

8 thoughts on “

  1. What sweet memories! They sound like nice people! Thank you for sharing them with us! 🙂
    I always loved the Edith Bunker character! She was such a good role model in many ways.
    Now people watch TV in several different ways. I still like watching a TV TV. Ha! 😀
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Your mother in law was a happy character and made people around her happy . This is a strenght!
    By the way, Lynn, the names Raymond and Marie sound French for me ! 🙂
    Love ❤
    Michel

    Like

    1. Greetings Michel, They ‘are’ french… well partly… my husband’s heritage was Canadian french … Berthiaume
      Marie, my mother in law was irish… a Hayes, prior to marriage.
      There’s french (and irish) on both mine and my husband’s side.
      🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

