Fear
I have been examining fear… my fear.
It is interesting –
We fear when we do not understand.
Now that I know more, I have less fear of snakes.
I understand that they do not go out of their way to attack.
I understand now that they only attack when they are in the ‘strike’ position, i.e., curled up in wait for their prey to pass by.
They are of little danger when they are on the move.
I understand now that they hunt at night,
so as long as you are not walking out in the woods (or the corn fields, or such) at night (or early day), the likelihood of gettting struck by a snake is small.

I have examined my fear,
and wonder if it doesn’t come from that story we are told as children,
about the snake in the garden,
that evil snake.

One thought on “

  1. Wise words! Yes, often when we learn more, we fear less.
    Fears and phobias are interesting. Someone told me long ago (“there’s a calm before the storm….have you ever seen the rain comin’ down on a sunny day?”) Oopy…sorry, I got distracted….Someone told me long ago, that fear is the opposite of faith.
    I still struggle with some fears…but w-a-y less fears than I did years ago. And the whole cancer journey has helped me to let go of a lot of fears that are irrational or not worth my energy or emotions. 🙂 Plus a lot of what we fear never materializes anyway. 🙂

    Less fears, less tears, less jeers, less drears, less sneers!
    More cheers, more dears, more nears, more peers, more years!
    Root-beers, booty-rears, leary-leers, mule-deers and low gears are optional! 😀

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

