Today’s thoughts…. Today’s study

Thought:

Good point…
When Bruce Springsteen decides to act on his conscience and cancel a concert in North Carolina, that is applauded,
but when a business owner declines to bake a cake (or take photo’s, which I think would be even more difficult), or declines the use of their own venue(private property, and also even more difficult), on the basis of not degrading their own conscience, they should be sued in a court of law?

Study:

St. Paul, 2nd letter to the Corinthians

8 We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;

I am distressed. I am in despair. Though I try not to be.

13 We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak; (ref. Psalm 116)

‘I believe, therefore I speak’

16 For which cause we faint not… (i.e., we never give up (NLT))

Encouragement:

18 While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.
Psalm 116
10 I believed, therefore have I spoken: I was greatly afflicted:

11 I said in my haste, All men are liars.

I have seen what a great lot of lying there is in the world. It is more second nature to most people than is honesty. I have always been inclined towards honesty, where the rest of the world seems inclined to lies.

I have lived knowing the motto: ‘Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive’
I have desired to be entangled in no webs… no snares… snares (and deceits) are of the devil, the destroyer of all things good.

8 For thou hast delivered my soul from death, mine eyes from tears, and my feet from falling.

I am waiting for my deliverance.

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

