Does anyone watch, or take an interest in, the Olympics anymore?
To me it seems such a frivolous thing given the times we are living in, and the state of the world.
Nothing feels right about it.
olympics

I’m finding it fascinating to watch Star Trek, the Original Series, which was made between 1966-1969. I don’t remember computers coming into existence until the 70’s and yet the show seemed to know just how they would function and just how they would progress. ???
I’m having trouble wrapping my mind around it.  I guess we must have had them if we landed a man on the moon in 1969.  It just seems odd that they would have appeared in films before they appeared in our general lives.

When do you recall computers making an appearance?

8 thoughts on “

  1. W watch the Olympics with great animation. Love the games and the pageantry associated with it. If you didn’t watch the opening ceremonies, then you missed a spectacular show. You can always watch the movies on TV and Neflix anytime. This event is so vital to the economy of a country and what a great boost for the individuals taking part in this program. But may be you never played any sport, so you may not enjoy things that mean a lot to others. Why shouldn’t we respect the great athleticism of young people who are so vibrant with their dreams. Just because there are wars around, doesn’t mean that we should sit at home and not enjoy once in a four year enthusiasm of the athletes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Greetings Zakia,
      I agree with the concept of the Olympics and how they began as a means of bringing the people of nations together to compete in contests of athleticism rather than in wars…. a great way to get to know one another as people and see how much the same we all are, a means to reduce battles,
      but I just think they are not what they were originally conceived to be,
      (so many are not honest competitions any more with so many feeling the pressure and using performance enhancement drugs and methods… and I understand that there is much decadence and misbehaving that takes place at these events) … encouraging a great many things that ought not to be encouraged.
      and in a world where people are going hungry, can we justify the extravagance?
      I don’t know. I have mixed feelings.
      (and yes, I used to do gymnastics 🙂 ) … and later tennis.
      I used to really enjoy watching the Olympics…. it’s just the current state of things that make me feel they are no longer a thing that can be praised and supported. 😦
      Thanks for sharing your feelings. I am always interested to know how others feel. 🙂 I am happy to hear that you enjoy watching.

      Like

  2. I watch! I especially always enjoy the opening ceremony! And I really enjoy certain sports, and rooting for the athletes! 🙂 I think about how hard those kids worked to qualify and compete! I admire their dedication, talent and abilities! 🙂

    I think the Olympics are something to watch that brings joy and not sorrow…especially these days. So much sorrow in the world.

    I remember some businesses and schools having office computers in the early 1980’s in CA.
    A friend/co-teacher’s husband liked to work on electronics in his spare time and in the mid-80’s he fixed up a computer and then gave it to me. My kids played games on it, and I wrote school papers, classroom curriculum, snail-mail letters, etc., on it! 🙂 There was no internet then…at least we didn’t have it.

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Isn’t it strange to remember there was a time before internet?
      and I keep trying to remember before personal computers. I worked in the 80’s on computer but we had the main computer room with the huge mainframe computers that ran everything, and was always very cold, and you were not allowed to enter. I think I had one of the first forms of personal computer also in my cubicle, that I worked on, that used floppy disks. I seem to remember it was a radio shack. It seems so strange to not remember… things just happened so quickly from the 80’s to the 90’s, plus that was when I left the work force to raise my family. My next contact with computers was when my oldest reached high school age around the year 2000.
      Wow, remember when the year 2000 was a big thing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I would agree with you about the Olympic. It used to be so special but so much politics and many smart phones have entered the competition making it a little less one of a kind. Did you know that fewer and fewer cities are competing and bidding to host them? It just costs them too much and security is probably a big part of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I watch too, in fact I look forward to both the summer and winter games. I agree that times are difficult, but maybe some of the hate mongers will watch and see the unity in our worlds young people, and Thomas Bach’s opening speech was remarkable and encouraging to hear, He said “While we must remember that our common humanity unites us all as individuals, we must also — now more than ever — value and accept difference. I agree so much with him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

