To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield. (Lynn abridged version)

All (the) times I have enjoy’d
Greatly,
have suffer’d greatly,
both with those that loved me, and alone,
and when
Thro’ scudding drifts the rainy Hyades
Vext the dim sea: I am become (but) a name

I am a part of all that I have met;
Yet all experience is an arch wherethro’
Gleams that untravell’d world whose margins fade
For ever and forever when I move.

How dull it is to pause, to make an end,
To rust unburnish’d, not to shine in use!

Life piled on life
Were all too little,
and of one to me
Little remains

And this gray spirit yearning in desire
To follow knowledge like a sinking star,
Beyond the utmost bound of human thought.

Old age hath yet his honour and his toil;
but something ere the end,
Some work of noble note, may yet be done,

and tho’
We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are;

3 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

