“How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot.
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d”

― Alexander Pope, Eloisa to Abelard

Nietzsche – “Blessed are the forgetful: for they get the better even of their blunders”

Yes, but not so blessed the ones on the receiving end of those blunders which the blunderer is so content to forget.

“… The world forgetting, by the world forgot…
Each pray’r accepted, each wish resign’d”

3 thoughts on “

  1. Hey, it’s me!
    How are you?!

    This poem and quote are very profound and make me think.

    Yes, some things should be remembered by the blunderer…and some things should be remembered by the world…because when they are not remembered, they are often repeated. 😦 And if they are bad, then it’s bad. 😦

    And we should remember the good things, too. And try to repeat them. 🙂

    I guess that’s why God thinks forgiveness is so important. Often the ones who hurt us, don’t even give it a second thought…yet, we hang onto it all and continue to be in pain. So, when we can truly forgive them, we are rid of that burden and pain.

    Okay. Did any of that make any sense at all?!

    I think I need a rootbeer! 😛

    ❤ and (((HUGS))) 🙂
    PS…I miss Frankie around here, already. 😦

    Like

  2. Yes, I always miss Frank greatly when he goes away. 😦 I understand his need to take care of things at home though.

    the thing about forgiveness… I think repentance needs to accompany forgiveness…. otherwise we are stuck doing the 70 x 7 thing
    of course the other person wants to simply forget…. easier for them that way… but I think accountability is a necessary element
    It is a tricky thing this forgiveness business.
    That’s why I retyped (focused on);
    Each pray’r accepted, each wish resign’d”

    I’ll take whatever few blessings there may be, knowing that I may never get my wishes.

    I think I need a real beer. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

